Imagix 4D User Guide


Comparing Projects

This second approach to using Delta Analysis is to compare the current states of two separate projects. This approach is available at any time. (The alternative to this approach is to actively manage revisions within an individual project).

Loading a Project for Comparison

At any time, you can use Delta Analysis to compare your current project with any other existing project. You're able to specify that other project through the Project > Load Revision for Delta Analysis... dialog.

Because this approach compares the current states of the two projects, it automatically loads the revision that reflects the current state of the other project. If no such revision exists, you will first need to create one through the 'Create Revision' button. Once such a revision exists, the 'Load Project' button is enabled.

The revision contains information about the functions and variables in your project at the time the revision was created. In addition to the control flow hierachy of the function calls and variable usage, the revision contains packaging information - which functions and variables were contained in which classes, files and ultimately directories.

In resolving which revision files and file members correspond to which current files and file members, Delta Analysis uses this packaging information. If you're maintaining the different versions of your source code all in the same directory structure, for example through a source control system, then the resolution can be done by a direct comparison of directories and files. 'Same location as current source files' should be selected.

However, if the location of the revision version of your files is offset from their current location, 'Root directory of revision was different than that of current project' can be used. The Help... dialog does some initial comparisons and offers suggested settings for the root directories of the revision and current projects. And if your root settings result in only limited resolution of the source files, you'll be alerted to that and can modify the settings.